What might a spirit feel on first awakening in the afterlife? Fear, confusion, denial?

When Maggie Stevens, a former world-class gymnast, first awakens in a hospital bed, she is amazed that her body is pain-free. After all, she fell off a balance beam during a competition and crashed head-first onto the auditorium floor. What Maggie doesn’t at first realize is that the hospital is like no place on earth. She meets other newly arrived “patients”: Kate Douglas, a no-nonsense academic who suffered a heart attack; Ryan James, a handsome musician, who is recovering from a motorcycle crash; Frank Chambers, an ex-cop from Chicago, and Patrick Riley, a church organist, both of whom arrived from a Swiss cancer clinic; and Claire and Swen, a young couple running away from the army. When they all learn that they didn’t recover from their illnesses and injuries, they go on an adventure to discover the nature of their new reality. Each must discover that their earthly choices and intentions paved the way for their final destination.

About the Author

Naomi Gladish Smith is the author of two other novels about the afterlife, The Arrivals (2004) and The Searchers (2011). Her essays and articles have appeared in a number of anthologies and other publications. She divides her time between Glenview, Illinois and Lake Worth, Florida. You can visit her website at

Additional information


Naomi Gladish Smith




Release Date

You may also like…

Related products

© Copyright 2018 Swedenborg Foundation

powered by Everything theme